Notables:

I soaked Morningstar sausage patties in bacon fat to assist in making biscuits & gravy for the first time (the gravy part was the first).  It was nothing remarkable but it felt so wrong/right to do.

We saw the National on Friday night.  It was a good show but I am so tense from hating 80% of everyone in an audience these days that I forget to enjoy the actual event.  And that crowd wasn’t even annoying, at least not at all compared to the audience at Elvis Costello the following night.  Here is my impression of most of the people there: “What?  Elvis Costello is playing?  It’ll cost $40? What am amazing opportunity for me to get a gaggle of my friends together to shout at each other and play grabass while the band quietly reinterprets Elvis’s back catalog and other rock songs.  And when he plays a song I know I will hoot loudly and then return to making plans to go to Sine later.”   Get it together, my aunts and uncles –  I don’t know how you behaved at clubs on Grace St. in the ’80s but am I the only person who thinks that anything above whisper-shout at a concert is as rude as talking through a movie? I could barely hear him.  Grumble, grumble.

But to offset all that business, it has been a weekend of fun stuff.  Our pals Jess & Meredith came to visit and Jess brought us two boxes of Berger Cookies.  And today is our wedding anniversary and has been a day for us to sit down and reflect on all of the BBQ sandwiches I have eaten in the past year.  When I cry at movies I now cry a vinegar-based sauce if that’s any indication of how many it has been.  Also wedded bliss has not only brought me happiness beyond imagination but opportunities to do things like meet cool people who bring us Berger Cookies when they visit.

There are no longer two boxes left over, by the way.

