The CD was hard to create. After I burned the first version, I remembered Radiohead, Spiritualized, and Super Furry Animals. Crap. I get nervous that someone won’t fall in love with the band like I have. Like, the Doves. They are beautiful. Super Furry Animals are so interesting and consistently good. I added the usual suspects: Oasis, Pulp, Blur, Supergrass, Ash. I was going to add the Verve, but anything not on “Urban Hymns” is boring, and his solo stuff isn’t that exciting, either. It’s hard to pick one song that would best introduce any of these artists, and I could make volumes of these CDs, although they might have the same 20 bands.

British rock was my first lesson in pop music, thanks to my parents. We listened to a cassette called “British Invasion” during road trips to West Virginia, and not knowing what a compilation was, I thought of that tape as one good band. The Hollies, Kinks, Chad & Jeremy, and the Beatles were the foundation for my interest in modern Brit Pop, which snapped to attention again in 1994 when I first heard Ash. Oasis followed Ash, and other groups popped up during high school. I got a job at a record store and could afford the obsession. I read Q, Select, Mojo, anything with a cover price in pounds, and always wanted to know who was happening next. It was an exciting time and my interest in it led to friendships and relationships (I have no photos of my first boyfriend, but knowing that he sort of looked like Mick from Supergrass is enough).

I don’t think it’s worth writing about how much I loved Oasis. It was more productive than, but similar to, my New Kids fanaticism. Sometimes I apologize for them and I didn’t get the last album, but fuck it, I think they’re awesome and I still swerve the car or drop the cat when I hear them unplanned.

As a huge Anglophile, I feel I own stock in anything British that becomes popular. You have to go through me first if you want to like “Spaced,” tea, or Mini Coopers. Just so I can say “yay, me first, after the British.”

