Driving home last night I got really excited about Oasis (it goes like this: “there’s a tree, there’s a car, there’s Laxmi Singh, there’s a toll booth — HOORAY OASIS!”). I listened to Be Here Now all week at work. They get me pumped up. I could talk about them for hours. I’ve been listening to them nonstop. Grad school takes a back seat to Noel Gallagher, obviously.

I will say that Wilco is my favorite band, but I would throw Jeff Tweedy into a group of orphans if he was standing between me and Noel Gallagher.

Be Here Now is one of those albums that I will skip through when I listen to it at home or in the car, but for some reason is an excellent soundtrack for loan processing. Same with Justin Timberlake’s Futuresex/Lovesounds. He and NG have similar songwriting styles, in that they are incoherent but rhyme, but whereas I shrug off Noel’s lyrics as “oh, he’s dyslexic” (which he is), I always assume JT’s talking about anal sex. And I figured out what “brains” means. Thanks, Internet.

