It’s always crummy weather when I go to D.C. This weekend Christophile and I went to the American Art Museum/National Portrait Gallery. I learned many things, including:

– Walt Whitman was gay
– Pocahontas’s real name was Matoaka. Pocahontas is just a nickname. Also, she didn’t really exist.
– In the 1600’s I volunteered to make maps of the world because I wanted to practice drawing sea serpents.
I really enjoyed the museum, especially the diorama of a museum, complete with sets of bones and little portraits. CK and I were both impressed with it. I made a Museum of Friendship for her from a shoe box and some dead camel crickets, but after seeing how gorgeous this mini museum was, I may have to spray paint the box with glitter.

I stopped at her house before heading home, and her mom gave me ice cream cake (I don’t remember the occasion — oh right, because her mom is awesome and gives people ice cream cake). I watched about ten minutes of “Home Alone” with them. I don’t think I’ve seen that movie in 15 years, but I queued it up, either because I recognized that it really is a good film, or I liked that her mom laughed at every joke.

Other notable weekend experiences: I had late nights both Friday and Saturday, and I had the TV on while trying to sleep Friday night. “Fresh Prince of Bel Air” was on, and apparently as some point in the series FP was shot and made disabled, and Hilary kept called her dead fiance “Travis” instead of Trevor.

We gathered ’round to watch Alec Baldwin on “Saturday Night Live.” He’s the best host. His shows are guaranteed to be funny. I especially liked the car pool skit. My sister and I have a game called “Baldwin.” The rules of the game are: when you’re watching TV and a Baldwin brother appears, whoever shouts “Baldwin” first wins. And really, if a Baldwin magically appears and you don’t shout it first, everyone still wins. Because hey, Baldwins!

I’m pretty sure I’m winning, though. I have a sense about these things.

I was planning to coast til ’07 on the fumes of this year, but whatevs. I’m going to make pear cheesecake for Thanksgiving dinner, and see if I can live off pita chips and ginger ale for a few weeks.

Here is a picture of our living room. My big plan was to take a picture of every room in the house and hang a different room in a different room. It’s too mind blowing to actually get together.

