” Spaced” has been released on DVD. I like to think that my sister and I are responsible for its cult popularity in the states, having seen the first season years ago while flying home from England. But as it turns out we were merely our local representatives and not the only ones to have bootlegged copies of both seasons to pass around.

I like owning the legit version of it, and it’s been fun to watch with subtitles (although every time they say “couple” it’s spelled “coupe”). My associate and I are halfway through the first season, which I have watched 1 million times, but still think is funny. The set comes with extras, most annoyingly commentary with guests like Kevin Smith, Diablo Cody, and Quentin Tarantino. Ugh, WHY?

“Spaced” is a joy to watch. Though sometimes it’s referential to the point that you’re confused as to why they bothered remaking the story instead of using something original (like the “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” episode in season 2). But overall it’s funny, sweet, random, and the characters are awesome. Plus, Simon Pegg and Jessica Hynes (nee Stevenson) are the best and I love them. I know that’s sort of a half-assed review, but my point is that it annoys me that something already amazing and well-known on the other side of the ocean needs to be qualified in anyway with DVD cover blurbs from Kevin Smith and Judd Apatow.

Though I like Kevin Smith as a pop culture observer, his quote “Watching SPACED is kinda like watching a Kevin Smith film if Kevin Smith had any real talent,” makes me sad because watching “Spaced” is nothing like that. He at least admits that having good taste isn’t the same thing as having talent. And anyway, “Spaced” was out before anyone knew who Apatow was, and definitely after Smith stopped making good movies. I know it’s marketing, and I know that it’ll make people interested, but in a way I feel like my little show that made me giggle with all of its “Evil Dead 2” and British junk food references is being exploited. It’s doesn’t need a stamp of approval from these other filmmakers. If anything, they can take a lesson about how something like “Spaced” can be funny without being vulgar and embarrassing to watch.

