Visitors to Arthouse or to my last apartment may have thought that I kept a dead raccoon near my bed. You are wrong. It was actually my cat, Milhouse, and she’s quite alive. She was just severely depressed for various reasons and slept for 23 hours of the day. She has also moved about five times and has usually spent the first couple months hiding in the mattress box spring.

When we moved this past Saturday she surprised us by not only not hiding forever, but by running around, jumping on furniture, knocking things off tables — it was as if she and Ely switched bodies but also Ely was knocking over everything.

It’s been a delight to have her hang out.   Now I have two cats to get into everything and annoy me, but it’s a lot less stressful when you’re not worrying about all that noise bothering the neighbors downstairs.   I’m trying to think of something snarky to say to end this post, but I can’t. Cats are cute.  Also, we sealed the mattress box spring so if she managed to find a way to get back up I was going to seal it up again and let her die there since she loved it so much.  milhouse

