yeswecampIMG_0402

In a twenty-four hour period I managed to have both the most miserable experience of my life and also a pleasant time at my family reunion in West Virginia.  I went kayaking on the Greenbrier River, which I thought would be a 40-minute breeze, but turned out to be about one hundred hours of being rained on, getting stuck on rocks in the low water level areas, and dragging a kayak over rocks and snails (I also fell in but the rain hid all evidence of that).  It lasted forever, and I physically have never worked so hard at something so unsatisfying in all of my life.  But also it wasn’t that bad.  At least I was hanging out with my sister and assorted cousins.  It was weird to have that much misery and niceness wrapped into one hot, rainy, and otherwise awful afternoon.  That’s camping!  Also it rained all night and we got water in our tent.  I was so hungry after kayaking but all I ate was a bag of Doritos and I wasn’t drinking any water because I didn’t want to get up in the rain to find the port-o-john.  That stupid bag of Doritos kept me company all weekend and now I’m off of them for a while.

Also I forgot how nice it can be to take long drives alone (no offense, everyone).  I caught up on Splendid Table podcasts and confirmed that I am the greatest singer in the world.  No one was around to dispute this.

