Now that I have edited my life’s goals to include only watching seasons three and four of “Lost,” I thought I would create more of a burden on myself by revisiting the “I want to make the best fried chicken in the world” dream I used to have.  Fried chicken isn’t even especially complicated.  It’s just chicken plus egg wash plus flour and spices.  And oil.  And secrets.  It just seems like a lot of work for something that can easily be purchased at Lee’s or Ukrop’s (my top picks).

At first I was going to use Martha’s salt and pepper chicken recipe from the last Living, then I thought “no one tells me how to make fried chicken!”  Using inspiration from Michael Ruhlman’s “Ratio,”  a book that teaches the science and basics of different recipes to unchain us from cookbooks (though I still use it as a cookbook — I’m not going to remember all of those ratios), I decided to wing it.  How difficult could fried chicken be?

In the end I used the damn recipe.  I had to cut a whole chicken up, which was a first for me but took about twelve times longer than it should have because I had to stop every minute to reflect on how gross it was.  Then I had to make stock, which I didn’t want either but it would have been dumb to waste a chicken.  The chicken itself was far from a fail.  The honey brine was a great move, Marth.  I would make it again.

Anyway, I find that even when I do wing a recipe I’m still basically recalling a recipe I’ve already made.  I don’t think I’d be good at making them up.  Also, we just watched the “Man Vs. Food” where he was in Memphis, and now need to return immediately.  I didn’t know about Gus’s Fried Chicken!  The sign says it’s famous.

And here is a pumpkin that is growing in my garden, right after I gave up on it for the year.  I think the frost will kill it before it brings down the fence with its pumpkin glory.

IMG_0797

