I have mentioned before that I am not much of a reader anymore. When I was a kid I read all the time, but after I finished college the number of books I read decreased (I know this because I tracked it for years). Now I probably read about ten books a year, but I’m trying to get reading back into my daily routine like it was before. This inspired my “summer of reading.” I probably haven’t read any more than I usually would, but I think I’m not going to read less this year for once, and for a little while this summer I did put a book in my hands when I normally would have cruised on the internet.   And if 1,000 reads of a children’s books equals one novel, then I have read this adorable novel about a talking pig named Olivia.

I thought I would be a more dedicated reader if time was against me, so I checked out books from the library (I hadn’t been to my neighborhood’s location since we moved into our house, although I still have at least one book out from there from when I was in elementary school).  On my first visit, I checked out “Maus” by Art Spiegelman and “Living History” by Hillary Clinton.  I read Maus during lunch breaks, but it probably only took up a tear-soaked hour overall. I checked out Hillz’s book week after week.  What’s the point of due dates if I can just keep the book for infinity?  She is a long-winded writer (she has to have at least one sentence of bio for every person she mentions, and she knows thousands of people and they all became close friends, and subsequently, most of them died before the book was over).  I read the first half of the million-page book and then skimmed the second half, but I have to say that I love her.  We are idiots for not choosing her as our president, and I will do whatever I can for Hillz 2016.  I will argue anyone who has anything illogically negative to say about her.  Bring it.

from textsfromhillaryclinton.tumblr.com

Other books I read:

“Man Made” by Joel Stein. I like info-packed memoirs.  It’s pretty funny, a little too jokey sometimes, though.  I really liked the LAFD and turkey-hunting sections (turkeys are great source material; also the best subject in Barbara Kingsolver’s “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle”).

“Are You My Mother?” by Alison Bechdel. Not as enjoyable as “Fun Home,” but still really liked it (also I have learned to stop calling these graphic novels since they are memoirs). It’s all about her mom this time (Fun Home is about her dad), and has given me well-drawn instructions on what not to do as a mother.

I started to read “Flowers in the Attic,” but I can’t get over the prose to get very far (like with “Twilight”). Instead I’m reading “What is the What?,” which is an engrossing/devastating novel about a Sudanese refugee. I’m reading it in ten-minute installments on my lunch break. Because of the subjects (war/watching everyone die) it’s hard to enthusiastically pick up and not a good before bed read unless you like to sob to sleep, but it’s written so well that I’m sure I’ll finish it soon.  After that I want to read something classic like “Wuthering Heights” (please put your book recommendations on hold; if you want me to read something bad enough, just give me the book).

I have really enjoyed the classic kid’s books, most of which I don’t remember reading as a child. I read a lot as a young kid, though, and my parents gave me a book subscription when I was young and a book was mailed to me every month. My child reads (and has torn up) some books that we owned as kids.   When a children’s book is good it’s so good, but when it’s bad it’s so hard to read (RAINBOW FISH). I have contemplated throwing some away because she finds where we hide the ones we don’t like and then focuses on those to be read the most (the condition is never good enough to give it away). When  she rips the pages of a book I don’t like it takes me a really long time to say something to her about it.

She has some books that made me laugh out loud the first time I read them (the first Olivia and Runaway Bunny).  I also really like to read Dr. Seuss books out loud. It’s fun.

Everyone is expecting me to finish this with “But you don’t have to take my word for it.”  WELL YOU DON’T.

