I have hinted to this before, but I am terrible at completing home improvements. We have been in our home four years this week, and the only things we’ve done are a couple of not-great paint jobs, installed a dimmer switch, and had a six-foot tall fence built in the backyard that basically serves as our dog’s way of giving us the middle finger every time she climbs over it. Our house is decorated, and we clean it and stuff, but we haven’t done anything to keep it in shape to make it more attractive for someone to want to buy it from us when/if that time ever comes.
The inability to hang a shelf is what bothers me the most. We bought a shelf that also functions as a coat/clothes hanger for our kid’s room before she was born and we never hung it up, and it no longer goes anywhere in the room. Despite knowing this I purchased a different, smaller hanger that needs to be installed on her wall. Why haven’t I hung it up? Because we have two drills, and can’t find either power cord or battery pack to charge the drills in order to use them. Every task we have cannot be completed because of the prework before it.

Now I have shared this, it’s going to (hopefully) serve as motivation to get it done. My hope is once we get started, there isn’t any bit of home-bettering we can’t accomplish. I am going to find a battery pack, charge a drill, find a spot on the wall and hang up this stupid owl thing I bought to hang a coat or something (I don’t know what I got it for, it was purchased during an Ikea trip where everything served a purpose until I unpacked it at home). If I can’t charge the battery, I will borrow a drill.

If I can’t do that, I might as well just lock the door and leave the house to the cats.

UPDATE: After I wrote this draft the other day, I went home, found the battery and charger, and charged the drill.  But it turns out that I don’t need a drill, I can use nails.  Still, step 1 has been accomplished!  And we have like a dozen hammers around the house because we are constantly fighting the Mario Brothers.  More on that (housework, not the Mario Bros.) later.

