When I was pregnant and at a friend’s house playing with her kids, I marveled at a wooden food play set made by Melissa and Doug. I played with it (probably without the kids) for a few minutes. I thought it was so cute. You could cut the vegetables and bread with a little knife because the parts were connected by Velcro.
I had never heard of Melissa and Doug before, so I assumed it was some indie toymaker and you could only special order toys from its one storefront in someplace like Portland, Oregon. I was so surprised that it was on Amazon.com like a normal company. I think my initial discovery of this toy went something like this:
Me: Oh! How delightful. Melissa and Doug? Am I saying that right? We need to remember this next year” (but since this was pre-baby I probably used the “f” word like twelve times).
I had no idea that Melissa and Doug is basically wooden Fisher Price and the toys are stocked everywhere. You can probably get a Melissa and Doug farm animal puzzle at 7-11. Two and a half years later, I have had so much M&D toys cross into my house that I get anxious whenever I see that red and white logo and hate all people named Melissa or Doug (sorry, Doug).  We like what we have but we have enough. The company won’t stop making quality wood toys! People won’t stop buying it and making me put it somewhere in my house!   Do they think I’m made of closets?
In short, contributions to a 529 Plan are an excellent Christmas gift if you are wondering what to get the small child in your life.

More like Melissa and UGH

More like Melissa and UGH

 

ps — I do LIKE the toys, and the people giving them (especially the wooden block set, although the U for urn block will lead to some serious talks I’m sure).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

